Presentation of the Society

What is Angiogenesis ?

Angiogenesis is a biological phenomenon which refers to the formation of new bllod vessels. Angiogenesis is necessary to normal development of the embryo, of organs and is also favoring tumor growth and metastasis. Angiogenesis also appears in other pathological situations such as rhumatoid arthritis and age-related macular degeneration.

The French Angiogenesis Society

The SFA is an official French, non-profit association, created under the '1901 law article' on 06 June 2007. The SFA is the continuation of the Réseau Français d'Angiogenèse created on 16 May 1996 by several French researchers working in this field in order to favor the exchanges between their laboratories.

The SFA organises an International conference every 18 months which is a unique occasion to present fundamental and clinical research, in place of the initial meetings of the French Angiogenesis Network (Réseau Français d’Angiogenèse). The SFA forms, through its members and their activities, a network of experts in Angiogenesis and gathers most of the actors in this field in France. The SFA interacts with private companies and administrations in order to propose the creation of study- and research- fellowships, prices... under its name and supported by these structures.


Word from the President

Dear colleagues, dear Friends,

It is with great gratefulness that I have accepted the presidency of the French Society of Angiogenesis and I hope to be worthy to succeed our eminent founding members and previous presidents. Therefore, I wish to thank Dr. Fabrice Soncin, the founder of our society, Jean-Jacques Feige who expanded the SFA to a large-scale of European laboratories, and Gilles Pagès who build our reputation and recognition in Europe by becoming a member of the Board Director of the European Vascular Biology Organization. I wish to continue their work and to participate in the recognition of the SFA in Europe, but also worldwide.

Blood and lymphatic vascular systems play a key role in pathophysiology. They are involved in embryonic development, wound healing, and are key players in pathologies such as cancer and cardiovascular diseases. In order to discuss about new ideas and about the latest scientific and technological advances, the SFA meets every 18 months during a congress that takes place in the host organizers city. During this meeting, we provide scientists new tools through a it represent a perfect place for pooling technologies. Our meeting allows us to establish new collaborations between national and international research teams to carry out original projects. This meeting also allows us to update our knowledge about of the progress of clinical trials currently performed in the hospitals. This congress is of great importance because it brings together the entire French scientific community that studies vascular systems in various pathologies. It provides the opportunity to set up new collaborations and it gives a real visibility for French laboratories to the international scientific community.

Our next meeting, the 9th, will be held in Nantes on May 14th and 15th, 2020. The organizers, Dr. Julie Gavard, Cécile Duplaa, and Vincent Sauzeau, gathered on this occasion world-renowned speakers who will share the presentations with students and postdocs selected on abstracts. I have no doubt that this congress will be a great success.

In the near future, I wish to continue the work performed by the previous members of the SFA. I wish to participate to highlight French vascular laboratories in the international context. Having started my career by studying the role of angiogenesis in heart and metabolic diseases, before specializing in the field of cancer, I would like to continue the opening that my predecessor had set up for other disciplines in connection with angiogenesis. On a more personal note, I would also like to emphasize a poorly explored field: the lymphatic vascular system.

Thanks to our strong past history associated with new players from the renewal of the SFA Board Director, I am extremely confident about the success of our joint project.

Barbara Garmy-Susini, President

Bureau and Administration Board

Bureau of the French Angiogenesis
Society (06/2019-/2021)
Dr Barbara Garmy-Susini, Présidente, Dr Julie Gavard, adjointe
Dr Isabelle Vilgrain, Trésorière, Dr Eva Faurobert, adjointe
Dr Cécile Duplaà, Secrétaire, Dr Thomas Daubon, adjoint
Administration Board (10/2019-21)
Dr Thomas Daubon, Bordeaux
Dr Cécile Duplaà, Bordeaux
Dr Eva Faurobert, Grenoble
Dr Julie Gavard, Nantes
Dr Hanna Hlawaty, Paris
Dr Sonia Martial, Nice
Dr Laurent Martiny, Reims
Dr Thomas Mathivet, Paris
Dr Laurent Muller, Paris
Dr Fabrice Soncin, Lille, membre invité
Dr Florence Tatin, Toulouse
Dr Isabelle Vilgrain, Grenoble
The Webmaster is Fabrice Soncin (CNRS UMI 2820, LIMMS/IIS)
Catherine Boisson-Vidal, Trésorière Barbara Garmi-Susini, Secrétaire Julie Gavard Cécile Duplaà Eva Faurobert Laurent Martiny Laurent Muller Fabrice Soncin Isabelle Vilgrain Catherine Boisson-Vidal, Trésorière Barbara Garmi-Susini, Secrétaire Julie Gavard

Présentation de la SFA

Qu'est-ce que l'angiogenèse

L'angiogenèse est un phénomène biologique qui consiste en la mise en place de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins. L'angiogenèse est fondamentale au développement normal de l'embryon, des organes en général et aussi à la croissance de la tumeur cancéreuse et à la dissémination métastatique. L'angiogenèse apparaît également dans plusieurs autres situations pathologiques comme l'arthrite rhumatoïde et la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l'âge (DMLA).

La Société Française d'Angiogenèse

Association 'loi 1901' créée le 06 Juin 2007, la SFA représente la continuité du Réseau Français d'Angiogenèse créé le 16 mai 1996 à l'initiative de plusieurs chercheurs Français travaillant dans ce domaine de recherche dans le but de favoriser les échanges entre leurs laboratoires.

La SFA organise un congrès international tous les 18 mois qui est la vitrine de la recherche fondamentale et clinique et qui prend la suite des colloques du Réseau Français d’Angiogenèse. La SFA forme, à travers ses adhérents et leurs activités, un réseau d’experts en angiogenèse en France, ainsi qu’un annuaire des acteurs du domaine. La SFA met en œuvre des démarches envers les entreprises privées et collectivités publiques afin de proposer la création de bourses d’étude et de recherche, prix… sous son égide, financés par ces organismes.


Le mot de la Présidente

Chers collègues, chers amis,

C’est avec beaucoup de reconnaissance que j’ai accepté la présidence de la société française d’angiogenèse et j’espère me montrer digne de succéder à nos éminents membres fondateurs qui se sont succédés à la présidence. C’est pourquoi, je souhaite avant tout remercier les Dr Fabrice Soncin, à l’origine de la création de notre société savante, Jean-Jacques Feige qui a élargi notre société vers des laboratoires Européens de grande envergure, et Gilles Pagès qui a su asseoir notre notoriété et reconnaissance en Europe en devenant membre du conseil d’administration de l’European Vascular Biology Organisation. Je souhaite pour ma part poursuivre leur travail et continuer à participer à la reconnaissance de notre société savante en Europe, mais également outre-Atlantique.

Les systèmes vasculaires sanguins et lymphatiques jouent un rôle primordial en physiopathologie. Il sont impliqués dans le développement embryonnaire, la cicatrisation, et représentent des acteurs clés dans des pathologies telles que le cancer et les maladies cardiovasculaires. Afin de débattre de nos idées et des dernières avancées scientifiques et technologiques, la SFA se réunit tous les 18 mois lors d’un congrès qui se déroule dans la ville d’accueil du laboratoire de ses organisateurs. Lors de ce congrès, nous mettons à disposition de nouveaux outils aux scientifiques grâce à une mise en commun des technologies de chacun. Notre réunion permet d’établir de nouvelles collaborations entre des équipes de recherche nationales et internationales pour mener à bien des projets d’envergure. Cette réunion nous permet également de faire un état des lieux sur les avancées des essais cliniques actuellement pratiqués dans les CHU. Ce congrès revêt une grande importance, car il permet de réunir l’ensemble de la communauté scientifique française qui étudie les systèmes vasculaires dans des pathologies diverses. Il apporte l’opportunité de mettre en place de nouvelles collaborations en vue de dépôt de projets nationaux et internationaux et il permet de donner une réelle visibilité des laboratoires français à la communauté scientifique internationale.

Notre prochaine réunion, la 9ème, se tiendra à Nantes les 14 et 15 mai 2020. Les organisateurs, les Dr Julie Gavard, Cécile Duplaa, et Vincent Sauzeau, ont réuni à cette occasion des intervenants de renommée mondiale qui partageront l’affiche avec des étudiants et post-doctorants sélectionnés sur résumé. Je n’ai pour ma part aucun doute sur le fait que ce congrès sera de nouveau un franc succès.

Dans un avenir proche, je souhaite poursuivre le travail accompli. Je souhaite participer à la mise en lumière des laboratoires vasculaires français dans le cadre international. Ayant commencé ma carrière par l’étude du rôle de l’angiogenèse dans les pathologies cardiaques et métaboliques, avant de me spécialiser dans le domaine du cancer, je souhaiterais continuer l’ouverture qu’avait mis en place mon prédécesseur vers d’autres disciplines en lien avec l’angiogenèse. A titre plus personnel, je souhaiterais également mettre l’accent sur un domaine encore peu exploré : le système vasculaire lymphatique.

Grâce à notre historique solide auquel s’ajoute de nouveaux acteurs liés au renouvellement du conseil d’administration de la SFA, je suis extrêmement confiante quant à la réussite de notre projet commun.

Barbara Garmy-Susini, Présidente

Le Bureau et le Conseil d'Administration

Bureau de la Société Française
d'Angiogenèse (06/2019-21)
Dr Barbara Garmy-Susini, Présidente, Dr Julie Gavard, adjointe
Dr Isabelle Vilgrain, Trésorière, Dr Eva Faurobert, adjointe
Dr Cécile Duplaà, Secrétaire, Dr Thomas Daubon, adjoint
Administration Board (10/2019-21)
Dr Thomas Daubon, Bordeaux
Dr Cécile Duplaà, Bordeaux
Dr Eva Faurobert, Grenoble
Dr Julie Gavard, Nantes
Dr Hanna Hlawaty, Paris
Dr Sonia Martial, Nice
Dr Laurent Martiny, Reims
Dr Thomas Mathivet, Paris
Dr Laurent Muller, Paris
Dr Fabrice Soncin, Lille, membre invité
Dr Florence Tatin, Toulouse
Dr Isabelle Vilgrain, Grenoble
The Webmaster is Fabrice Soncin (CNRS UMI 2820, LIMMS/IIS)
Catherine Boisson-Vidal, Trésorière Barbara Garmi-Susini, Secrétaire Julie Gavard Cécile Duplaà Eva Faurobert Laurent Martiny Laurent Muller Fabrice Soncin Isabelle Vilgrain Catherine Boisson-Vidal, Trésorière Barbara Garmi-Susini, Secrétaire Julie Gavard